Buildings

We keep building things

But what are we building for

I have an idea I am getting somewhere

But I just keep getting older

I have an idea that if I build enough things

I will have arrived at a purpose

But where will we put everything

Once everything is already built

We want to build super-powered rockets

And colonize various solar systems

So we don’t have to stop building

I wonder if I am born in this century

Or the last or the one after this one

If what I build is just enough for me now

No matter where I am or where I’m going

I will die with things being built around me

Like a tomb or a capital or a house

While I watch other people building things

Bigger than I would have ever dreamed

And one day I will greet them all the same

In a tiny place we all share under the ground

This is why God had to invent attics

So we can put all the great things we build

But later once we die are embarrassed about.

Leave a comment